Disabled Diving

The instruction of diving to disabled people requires a special degree of dedication, an exceptional attitude and controlled enthusiasm from diving instructors. The in-water teaching skills and techniques employed must be appropriate to match the trainees’ needs.

It is the determination of the capacities of the diver in distress situations which determines the level of the diver and not the medical definition of the handicap. The handicapped diver has to have a respectful attitude of the underwater environment. If they cannot appreciate this, it is the instructor which has to help him to realize it (example: not touching the bottom)

The Standard sets out the requirements for two Instructor levels and an assistant level:

-Instructor Trainer for Disabled Divers (ITDD)

-Instructor of Disabled Divers (IDD)

-Disabled Diver Assistant (DDA)

Diving Certificates

The certificates approved by the PTRD committee for disabled diving are as follows:

-Open Water Disabled Diver Level I.

-Open Water Disabled Diver Level II.

-Open Water Disabled Diver Level III.

Minimum Number of Qualifying Dives
Five Open Water Dives.


Comments are closed.